UN Security Council renews terms of tribunal prosecutors for Rwanda, Yugoslavia

The UN Security Council reappointed the prosecutors for two of its war crimes tribunals on Wednesday for Rwanda and the former Yugoslavia, respectively, with the passage of two council resolutions.

Council resolution 2006 reappointed Hassan Bubacar Jallow as prosecutor at the International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda (ICTR) in Arusha, Tanzania, and resolution 2007 reappointed Serge Brammertz as his counterpart at the International Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia (ICTY) located in the Hague. Approved by unanimous vote in the council, the terms of the prosecutors will last until Dec. 31, 2014.

The council said that in both cases, the tribunals should try to complete all of their work “expeditiously,” and by no later than the end of the prosecutors’ terms.

The ICTY has brought indictments to 161 people for crimes committed in the former Yugoslavia. Trials have concluded for 126 of those accused.

At the ICTR, which prosecutes those involved in facilitating the 1994 Rwanda genocide, has completed six trials and is awaiting six more judgements, involving ten people as of June 30.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s